A holistic Approach to learning
As of July 1, 2005, South Dakota law requires state licensing. Local laws will have varying requirements for the practice of massage therapy and the regulation of massage therapy establishments (business sites). In some cases, you may be starting from scratch in your community, Our curriculum has been satisfactory for those graduates wishing to practice in states requiring 500 hours of training, as well as states requiring up to 650 hours of training. We strongly encourage you to become informed regarding the regulation of massage therapy and massage therapy establishments in the city or state where you intend to practice after graduation. We are happy to help in this regard and you may call the school for more information.
Students are eligible to sit for the national MBLEx exam.
SD State Requirements
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, NCETMB or MBLEx and CPR
Renewal: 8 hrs/2 yrs
The NCBTMB has announced that as of 11/01/2014, it will no longer administer an entry level licensing exam. This means the MBLEx will be the only licensing exam available in most states.
After graduation and completion of passing your boards, if you want to practice in the state of South Dakota, you must send in your certificate of completion and supporting documents to the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy. They will review it and approve/deny your application. Once approved you will receive your SD License! The SD Board of Massage Therapy is ran by the SD Dept. of Health. Here is their link and current contact information.
1103 Park Hill Drive
Rapid City, SD 57701
SDCL 36-35-2. The Board is legislated to have 5 board members appointed by the Governor. One member shall be a person not licensed by the board and four shall be licensed by the board. Currently serving are:
Christine Ellwein, LMT, Pierre
Bridget Myers, LMT, Sioux Falls
Check state laws below by clicking on the box "ABMP'S WEBSITE" Then click on desired state.